Workshops and Forums

Dr. Kay W. Axhausen
Editor-in-chief, Transportation
Dr. Kay W. Axhausen, Professor
ETH Zürich.
Dr. K.W. Axhausen has been Professor of Transport Planning at the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) since 1999. He holds his post in the Institute for Transport Planning and Systems of the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering. Before his appointment at ETH he worked at the Leopold-Franzens Universität, Innsbruck, Imperial College London and the University of Oxford. He holds a PhD in Civil Engineering from the Universität Karlsruhe (now KIT) and an MSc from the University of Wisconsin – Madison.
He has been involved in the measurement and modelling of travel behaviour for the past 35 years contributing especially to the literature on stated preferences, micro-simulation of travel behaviour, valuation of travel time and its components, parking behaviour, accessibility impacts and travel behaviour measurement.

Dr. Huaizu (Oliver) Gao
Editor-in-chief, Transportation Research Part D: Transport Environment
Dr. Huaizu (Oliver) Gao, Associate Professor, Director
Center for Transportation,
Environment, and Community Health (CTECH)
Cornell University
Dr. Gao serves as the Director of Cornell Systems Engineering and Director of Center for Transportation, Environment, and Community Health (CTECH). He is an Associate Professor with the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Cornell University, and an elected member in the graduate fields of 1) Civil and Environmental Engineering, 2) Air Quality in Earth and Atmospheric Science, 3) Cornell Institute of Public Affairs (CIPA), and 4) Systems Engineering at Cornell University. His research focuses on quantitative modeling and development of engineering systems solutions for sustainable and intelligent infrastructure and lifeline systems, low carbon and low emission transportation systems, and the closely related environment (especially air quality and climate change)-energy systems. Gao received his graduate degrees (Ph.D. in Civil and Environmental Engineering, M.S. in Statistics, and M.S. in Agriculture and Resource Economics) from the University of California at Davis in 2004, M.S. degree in Civil Engineering in 1999, and duel undergraduate degrees in Environmental Science and Civil Engineering in 1996 from Tsinghua University, China. He currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of Transportation Research Part D: Transport and Environment. Before joining Cornell, Gao was a QUANT in the mathematical and econometrical modeling division at the Rohatyn Group, LLG, a Wall Street hedge fund specializing in emerging markets including the BRIC countries.

Dr. Hai Yang
Editor-in-chief, Transportation Research Part B: Methodological
Dr. Hai Yang, Chair Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Personal Website:
Prof. Hai Yang is currently a Chair Professor at The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He is internationally known as an active scholar in the field of transportation, with more than 220 papers published in SCI/SSCI indexed journals and an H-index citation rate of 45. Most of his publications appeared in leading international journals, such as Transportation Research and Transportation Science. Prof. Yang received a number of national and international awards, including National Natural Science Award bestowed by the State Council of PR China. He was appointed as Chang Jiang Chair Professor of the Ministry of Education of PR China. Prof. Yang is now the Editor-in-Chief of Transportation Research Part B: Methodological, a top journal in the field of transportation.

Dr. Kelvin Cheu
Editor-in-chief, International Journal of Transportation Science & Technology
Dr. Kelvin Cheu, Professor
The University of Texas at El Paso
Dr. Kelvin Cheu (Ruey Long Cheu in publications) was born in Malaysia, received his BEng and Meng degrees at The National University of Singapore (NUS) and PhD degree at University of California at Irvine. He was a professor at NUS before becoming a professor at The University of Texas at El Paso. He has published more than 70 EI/SCI journal articles, and is the 12th most highly cited Google Scholar in Transportation Engineering. The ASCE named him a Fellow as “a pioneer in bringing artificial intelligence techniques into the transportation engineering field”. He is also a PE in Texas, Senior Member of IEEE, Editor-in-Chief of International Journal of Transportation Science & Technology, and Guest Professor at Tongji University.

Dr. Yafeng Yin
Editor-in-chief, Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies
Dr. Yafeng Yin, Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Michigan
Dr. Yafeng Yin works in the area of transportation systems analysis and modeling, and has published nearly 100 refereed papers in leading academic journals. One of his papers won the 2016 Stella Dafermos Best Paper Award and the Ryuichi Kitamura Paper Award from Transportation Research Board of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Dr. Yin is the Editor-in-Chief of Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies, Associate Editor of Transportation Science, and serves on the editorial boards for another four transportation journals such as Transportation Research Part B: Methodological. He is a member of Transportation Network Modeling Committee, Transportation Economics Committee, and International Cooperation Committee of Transportation Research Board. He is also the Immediate Past President of COTA.

未来智慧城市是将新一代信息技术充分运用在城市的各行各业之中、基于知识社会下一代创新的城市信息化高级形态。新一代信息技术、物联网、大数据、云计算等技术的广泛应用,促进了信息时代的城市形态向智慧城市建设转变。智慧城市发展的理念强调知识创新作为城市发展的动力,尤其是信息和通信技术对城市经济和社会文化的智慧化影响、以及信息技术对城市功能的作用。信息技术和互联网发展带动了“数字城市”、“信息城市”等城市组织形式的出现,尤其新型的网联车、自动车研究和网约车与共享单车的成功普及,进一步推动智慧交通信息与控制技术的变革和进步。在智慧城市转化的过程中,交通信息工程及控制学科也必然迎来新的发展机遇、面临如何使技术和知识创新与教育革新同步一体化的新挑战。为更好地推动智慧城市背景下交通信息工程与控制学科的新发展,在海内外有识之士的共同倡导与努力下,我们于2016年COTA国际交通科技年会期间成功地举办了第一次学科发展论坛,并初步建立该科学与技术发展论坛机制,充分利用海外华人协会与国内高校联合举办的国际科技年会(即COTA International Conference of Transportation Professionals - CICTP)的机会举办该系列论坛,旨在未来数年来通过参加论坛的专家、学者以及政府与工业界有识之士的广泛交流,推动交通信息工程与控制学科的壮大发展,为促进培育具有适应智慧城市发展需求的创新型人才共策良计.

Forum Steering and Advisory Committee:
Jizhen Guan (Chair), Yunpeng Wang (Co-Chair), Yinhai Wang, Hongzhi Guan, Xiangmo Zhao, Zhi Yu, Dianhai Wang, Xiaoguang Yang, Hai Yang, Xinping Yan, Yi Zhang, Wei Wang, Chunfu Shao, and Jifu Guo.

Forum Organizing Committee:
Heng Wei (Chair), Guohui Zhang, Wanjing Ma, Xiaofeng Chen, Zhijun Qiu, and Haizhong Wang

  • COTA Technical Committee (TA-TC01): Traffic Operations and Intelligent Transportation Systems
  • IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society Technical Committee on Traffic and Travel Management
  • ASCE's Transportation & Development Institute (T&DI) Advanced Technology Committee
  • ASCE's Transportation & Development Institute (T&DI) CAV Impacts Committee
  • Transportation Research Board Committee on User Information Systems (AND20)


1 1 1

BJTU icon
COTA icon

CICTP Conferences

CICTP 2018


Tongji University:
Dr. Jian Sun (

Dr. Haizhong Wang (, or
Dr. Yu Zhang (